Usama Mir is back in the team, while Faheem Ashraf is dropped from the Pakistani Squad. Naseem’s layoff can be lengthier.

Hassan Ali has become a part of Pakistan’s World Cup squad due to the injury of Naseem Shah. Usama Mir will join the Pakistani squad as well. It means Pakistan has the services of an extra leg spinner. Usama Mir debuted in ODI competition this year, taking the field against New Zealand. However, he was not a part of Asia Cup 2023. With the announcement, it has been confirmed that Pakistan’s pace attack consists of Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Muhammad Wasim (Jr), and Hassan Ali. Mohammad Haris will move with the team as a traveling reserve. Faheem Ashraf, though, was cut from the squad.

Inzamam-Ul-Haq, Chief Selector, announced the team today in a press conference. He said, “Naseem was injured, he was our main bowler and it was unfortunate. [Mohammad] Hasnain has an ankle injury and is out injured and so is Ihsanullah. If you see how Hasan Ali performed in the LPL, or other performances, he has performed better than most. He is an experienced bowler who has played big mega events for Pakistan and performed well in them.” Inzamam added, “And when Naseem was ruled out, we needed someone who could bowl with the new ball. He bowls well with both old and new ball, and is a team man. His presence lends energy to the team.”

According to ESPNcricinfo, Naseem Shah has been sidelined with a shoulder injury. He picked up this injury when he was playing in the Asia Cup. This injury will keep Naseem Shah out for a long time. Inzamam also mentioned it in his press conference. He said, “Unfortunately, the report we have from our doctors, we hear Naseem will be out for a longer time than just the World Cup. At this time, he was the world’s best bowler in my view. It’s a loss for Pakistan and we hope he’s fit soon.”

Hassan Ali has not played an ODI since June 2022. His last presence as a Pakistani player was back in January 2023, when he was a part of the second test against New Zealand.

Pakistan Squad

Babar Azam (Captain), Shadab Khan (VC), Fakhar Zaman, Imam-Ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Muhammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakil, Iftikhar Ahmad, Salman Ali Agha, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim JR, Hasan Ali.