Major players of both teams will rest in this3-match ODI series because the management wants to keep their players fresh before the start of the Cricket World Cup 2023.

The captains will not play this ODI series as both teams want to give their key players some rest before the World Cup 2023, scheduled from 5 October 2023 in India. The match is being played at Dhaka’s Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium. The toss was won by Bangladesh and elected to field first. The latest update is the rain has come. New Zealand is 9/0 in 4.3 overs. Fin Allen is playing at 5 in 18 balls, and Will Young is at 3(9). Tanzim Hasan Sakib bowled two overs, while Mustafizur Rahman was in his third over.

At the toss, Lockie Ferguson said, “This is a big series for us and a very challenging one. From our point of view, it’s a good build-up for a World Cup. We know how strong Bangladesh are in their home conditions, so it’s a good challenge for us. But our batters have been preparing. They’re used to spinning tracks, having played around the world.”

Litton Das, Stand-in Captain, said that it would be great for those team-mates who are out from international cricket for some time to come in and get the experience of competitive cricket. He said, “The players who will play have been out of international cricket for a long time. Everyone has a chance.”

Both teams will play this series with new captains. Litton Das will lead the Bangladeshi team. Some of the key players like Shakib Al Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Hasan Mahmud, Mushfiqur Rahim, Taskin Ahmed, and Shoriful Islam will miss the series.

Kane Williamson, New Zealand Captain, will rest. Therefore, Lockie Ferguson will be the captain of the Kiwis. Tim Southee is injured. Consequently, he is not playing. Another prominent absence we can observe is of Tom Latham. However, the spectators can enjoy the pace of Trent Bolt, spinner Ish Sodhi, Batter Will Young, and all-rounder Rachin Ravindra.

However, the most frustrating news is the race against time of Tim Southee, whose thumb was injured in the match against England at Lord’s. Now, he has undergone surgery only 15 days before the Cricket World Cup 2023. However, Gary Stead hopes his test captain can join the team before New Zealand’s World Cup campaign in India starts on 5 October 2023.

Bangladesh Squad

Litton Das (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mahedi Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Zakir Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Rishad Hossain, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, , Khaled Ahmed

New Zealand Squad

Lockie Ferguson (captain), Will Young, Finn Allen, Henry Nicholls, Dean Foxcroft, Rachin Ravindra, Tom Blundell, Kyle Jamieson, Trent Boult, Chad Bowes, Dane Cleaver, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner.